Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina


Form of Government

The Town of Latta is governed under the Council-Mayor form of government with the Town Council being composed of the Mayor and six councilmembers. Each council member is elected at large to a four year term with three council seats being elected every two years in a nonpartisan general election. The Town's general election takes place on the first Tuesday of December of each odd numbered year.

Under the council form, the council has all legislative, policy and administrative power. council establishes departments and prescribes functions; may hire an administrator to assist council; may appoint an officer to administer departments subject to council direction; investigates departments: appoints a clerk, attorney and judge; elects the mayor pro tempore (S.C. Code 5-7-190); and prepares and adopts a balanced budget.

Town Council Meetings are held the second (2nd) Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm.